2015 Founders Award Winners 2016-11-06T16:19:05+00:00

2015 Founders Award Winners

The first Founders Awards were presented at the 2009 Conference in Sacramento. With the approval of the Executive Board, Jim Howell, San Diego Chapter Delegate and a supporting committee initiated this program. This is an annual event designed to recognize MSA members who have performed outstanding service to the MSA, their communities and/or a heroic act. There is also a category for Chapter excellence. Any member in good standing may nominate anyone or any Chapter. The awards are given out by the Executive Board President during the Conference’s Thursday E-Board luncheon.

Gene Viramontes
Gene ViramontesCity of Fullerton (retired)

Gene was nominated by the LA/Orange Area Chapter, where he currently serves as their Executive Director/President and Comptroller. He is retired from the City of Fullerton, Public Works Department. This long time member was awarded the “Member of the Year” in 2005 and has been instrumental in bringing innovation, integrity and dedication to both his former employer and his Chapter.

Shawn Nesgis
Shawn NesgisUnion Sanitary District

Shawn is currently the Construction Supervisor for the Union Sanitary District. He was nominated by his Chapter, San Francisco Area. He is very active in MSA, having been awarded the Jerry D. Scott Outstanding Superintendent in 2014. Shawn is currently busy serving as the 2016 Conference Chairman. He is recognized by his Chapter as a hardworking, get things done individual, who is reliable, honest and dedicated.